Westpac, which is one of the largest banks in Australia has announced that they will be supporting Apple Pay for customers using debit and credit cards in June 2020, but from today customers of St. George, BankSA and Bank of Melbourne can use Apple Pay.

“We’re excited to introduce Apple Pay for St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA, as part of our commitment to changing our business to better meet the needs of our customers. We want to assure Westpac customers we are working to bring them Apple Pay as quickly as possible, while we roll-out the technology across our different banking platforms,”

David Lindberg – Westpac Group Chief Executive, Consumer

Westpac has long not supported Apple Pay as they, along with a couple of other Australian banks tried to get Apple to open up the NFC technology in the iPhone to allow other systems to be used, rather than not using Apple Pay. Apple came back to them and said it wouldn’t be helpful to customers and would also reduce innovation.

Apple Pay for debit and credit cards for St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA customers is available from today.

Source: Westpac